This is my logo. It's what I use to visually represent myself as an artist.

Just like my artist name, my logo has a lot of personal meaning. As with all of my art, I prefer to leave others with the task of finding whatever meaning makes the most sense for them. I believe that doing this makes my works feel less rigid, emphasizing that whatever I get out of them is not above what anyone else might. But that being said, whereas "viiii" was entirely my idea, my logo was actually co-authored by AI.

To go into more detail, I was having a hard time coming up with a logo, so I fired up Midjourney for some ideas. After tinkering for a few minutes with prompts that have now been lost to time, something along the lines of "violet heptagram", this eventually showed up. The upper-left icon is clearly recognizable as my logo. My friend Roman charitably helped vectorize it, and this became my current icon.

I see a lot of symbolism in my logo, both for me as a person, and for what my art represents. Some of it was embedded in the prompt, explicitly or implicitly. But in all likelihood, a lot of it was not. And unless one is to believe that AI can somehow grasp aspects of my personality from a string of tokens, whose only link to me is that I thought of them, I'm forced to admit that many of the things I find in this image are ultimately coincidences.

In an interesting twist of irony, this puts me in the same situation I've left everyone else regarding my art. Having to create meaning from where there's none, in order to fit personal expectations. For all I could ever possibly hope to know, perhaps Midjourney understood that my goal was to generate some sort of appealing visual with mystic imagery, and crafted some unknowable meaning of its own, then embedded into the image. And perhaps this "true" meaning is far removed from anything that I or you or anyone else see reflected in this visual.

But at the end of the day, this is just a visually appealing image. It looks good in YouTube thumbnails and in presentation cards. And maybe that's all it needs to be. A violet heptagram something.

Back | Main
©